Australian Embassy and Permanent Mission to the United Nations
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Kosovo, Slovakia and Slovenia

About us

About Us

The Australian Embassy in Vienna and Permanent Mission to the UN is accredited to Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Kosovo, Slovakia, Slovenia, and to the International Organisations in Vienna.


Head of Mission

Ambassador-designate Dr Brendon Hammer commenced his appointment in October 2016. Dr Brendon Hammer is the Australian Ambassador to Austria, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Hungary, Kosovo, the Slovak Republic, and Slovenia. Dr Hammer is Australia’s Resident Representative and Governor on the Board of Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and Australia’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Vienna, as well as Australia’s Permanent Representative to the Comprehensive Test Ban Treat (CTBTO) Preparatory Commission.


TwitterAustralian Embassy  & Permanent Mission in Vienna on Twitter




Embassy Contact Details

For Embassy office hours, contact details of the Australian Consulate Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canadian Embassy Budapest, Australian Consulate Slovenia, Visa & Migration Section, and 24-hour consular emergency service, please refer to the Contact us page.

Embassy Public Holidays



Friday, 1 January 2016 - New Year’s Day
Wednesday, 6 January 2016 - Epiphany
Tuesday, 26 January 2016 - Australia Day

Friday, 25 March 2016 - Good Friday
Monday, 28 March 2016- Easter Monday

Thursday, 5 May 2016 - Ascension
Monday, 16 May 2016 - Whit Monday
Thursday, 26 May 2016 - Corpus Christi

Monday, 15 August 2016 - Assumption

Wednesday, 26 October 2016 - Austrian National Day

Tuesday, 1 November 2016 - All Saints

Monday, 26 December 2016 - Boxing Day
Tuesday, 27 December 2016 - Christmas Day (in lieu)
Friday, 30 December 2016 - Additional DFAT Holiday



Monday, 2 January 2017 - New Year’s Day (in lieu)
Friday, 6 January 2017 - Epiphany
Thursday, 26 January 2017 - Australia Day

Friday, 14 April 2017 - Good Friday
Monday, 17 April 2017 - Easter Monday

Monday, 1 May 2017 - May Day
Thursday, 25 May 2017 - Ascension 

Monday, 5 June 2017 - Whit Monday
Thursday, 15 June 2017 - Corpus Christi

Tuesday, 15 August 2017 - Assumption

Thursday, 26 October 2017 - Austrian National Day

Wednesday, 1 November 2017 - All Saints

Monday, 25 December 2017 - Christmas Day
Tuesday, 26 December 2017 - Boxing Day


About the Australian Government

A gateway to all government agencies and services.

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)

Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP)

Australian Trade Commission (Austrade)

Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)
The Counsellor (Nuclear) at the Australian Embassy and Permanent Mission represents ANSTO in the IAEA and Europe.
For further information, please contact Mrs Kath Smith at:

Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (ASNO)

Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Organisation (ARPANSA)