Australian Embassy and Permanent Mission to the United Nations
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Slovakia and Slovenia

Joint Statement on the Occasion of the 27th Budapest Pride Festival 

Joint Statement

18 July 2022 
On the occasion of the 27th Budapest Pride Festival, we, the undersigned embassies and cultural institutes, express our full support for members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTQI+) community and their rights to equality and non-discrimination, freedom of expression and peaceful assembly, and freedom from violence. 

We note the important advocacy of LGBTQI+ grassroots human rights defenders, activists, journalists, media workers and civil society organizations which are working to ensure that all individuals, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, or sex characteristics, receive equal treatment and the full protection of the law. Respect for the rule of law and universal human rights are the foundations upon which democratic states are built. 
International human rights law is grounded on the broad premise that all individuals have the same rights and freedoms without discrimination. We reject and condemn all acts of violence, harassment, stigmatization and discrimination committed against individuals on the basis of their sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, or sex characteristics and support the fight against hate speech, violence, and discrimination targeting LGBTQI+ individuals and communities in all regions of the world.
Celebrating diversity is an important way to promote respect for human rights for all. Budapest Pride has the longest history of such events in the region, and we highlight its role in promoting equality of treatment and social acceptance for all LGBTQI+ persons, and contributing to the creation of a more open, just, inclusive and equal society.

Signed by the Following Embassies and Cultural Institutes: 

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, General Delegation of Flanders, Wallonie-Bruxelles International, Austrian Cultural Forum Budapest, British Council, Czech Centre, Estonian Institute, FinnAgora, Goethe-Institut, Institut Français, Instituto Camões, Instituto Cervantes, Italian Cultural Institute.