Australian Embassy and Permanent Mission to the United Nations
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Slovakia and Slovenia

Joint Statement on LGBTI+ Rights

Joint Statement on LGBTI+  Rights

Bratislava, July 17, 2019

As Slovakia’s international friends and partners, we join in celebrating LGBTI+ Pride and reaffirm our commitment to protecting and defending the human rights of all.  The first ever Pride March in Banska Bystrica on June 29, along with Pride Marches in Bratislava on July 20 and in Košice on August 24, together with other Pride events, celebrate the important societal contributions of LGBTI+ persons and support respect for all.  We hope that these events will continue to expand positive attitudes towards LGBTI+ family members, neighbors, colleagues, and friends. 

Everyone is born free and equal in dignity and rights without distinction of any kind, as stated in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.  Our governments have recognized this basic truth, and we stand firmly with the LGBTI+ community and the right for all persons to exercise their universal freedoms.  We affirm, too, the principles of the Charter of the Fundamental Rights of the European Union, which prohibits discrimination on the grounds of sexual orientation.

We recognize the important contributions of LBGTI+ persons to society.  We welcome efforts to secure the human rights of everyone in the Slovak Republic, including LGBTI+ persons, and we encourage government support to initiatives that promote tolerance in Slovak society.  Everyone deserves a safe environment free from violence and harassment.  Promoting equality is consistent with the international obligations of our governments.  We encourage everyone to support and advance all human rights for all.  An inclusive and diverse society based on equality, respect, and liberty benefits everyone.


Embassy of Argentina
Embassy of Australia
Embassy of Austria
Embassy of Belgium
Embassy of Bulgaria
Embassy of Canada
Embassy of the Republic of Cyprus
Embassy of the Czech Republic
Embassy of Denmark
Representation of the European Commission in Slovakia
Embassy of Finland
Embassy of France
Embassy of Germany
Embassy of Greece
Embassy of Iceland
Embassy of Ireland
Embassy of the State of Israel
Embassy of Italy
Embassy of the Republic of Latvia
Embassy of the Republic of Lithuania
Embassy of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
Embassy of the Republic of Malta
Embassy of Mexico
Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Embassy of New Zealand
Embassy of Norway
Embassy of Portugal
Embassy of Romania
Embassy of the Republic of Serbia
Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia
Embassy of Spain
Embassy of Sweden
Embassy of Switzerland
Embassy of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Embassy of the United States of America
Embassy of Uruguay